1. Home
  2. Google Apps
  3. Review/Edit Google Groups (Listserv)

Review/Edit Google Groups (Listserv)

How to Find My Groups

If you are the Owner or Manager of a Google Group, use these instructions to review/edit the addresses in that group.

  1. Within your Daemen email, click the apps box in the upper right corner.
  2. Choose the groups App from the dropdown selection:
    Select Groups
  3. Within the My groups window that opens, click on the group name of the group that you would like to edit. 
  4. Once in the group, if you are an owner/manager, you should see different side tabs options on the lefthand side including: Conversations and People. Please note that due to Google updating Groups,  you can only edit group membership on a desktop /laptop and it will not work on a mobile device.

Removing Members from a Group

  1. Click on the group name to enter the group (see above, How to Find My Groups).
  2. On the left, click People -> Members.
  3. At the top search for the person to remove or scroll down the list to find their Display Name or Email Address.
  4. Hover over the icon for their account (next to their name) and a checkbox will appear. Select the checkbox.
  5.  In the top select the circle with a partial-dash to Remove from Group.

Adding Members to a Group

  1. Click on the group name to enter the group (see above, How to Find My Groups).
  2. On the left, click People -> Members.
  3. At the top near the group name, select the “Add members” button.
  4. A pop up will appear. Enter the email addresses of the people to add in the Group members box (top box). Please Note: if you enter an email address into the Group managers or Group owners box, you will make that person a manager/owner for the group.
  5. Enter a welcome message (not typically required).
  6. Click “Add members” at the bottom of the pop up.

Changing Members Posting Permissions

  1. Click on the group name to enter the group (see above, How to Find My Groups).
  2. On the left, click People -> Members.
  3. At the top search for the person to remove or scroll down the list to find their Display Name or Email Address.
  4.  In the top find the Posting column-> Select the drop-down arrow next to their current posting permission. (typically either select Allow or Not allowed. Moderated means that all messages have to be approved by either a manager or owner of the group before they will be sent out to the group).

Updated on September 1, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles