I receive a pop-up in Google Chrome when I sign in to my Daemen Google account that states:
Your organization will manage this profile
This account ([uniqname]@daemen.edu) is managed by daemen.edu
You’re adding a managed profile to this browser. Your administrator has control over the profile and can access its data. Bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings can be synced to your account and managed by your administrator.
Why am I receiving this? How do I stop the pop-up from happening every time I log in? Does Daemen have access to my bookmarks, history, passwords, etc.?
To prevent the pop-up notice from appearing every time you log in to your Daemen Google account in Google Chrome, choose one of the following resolutions:
- If you want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn on sync
- When sync is on, and you are signed in to Chrome, this pop-up will no longer appear
- If you don’t want to sync your Chrome profile across multiple devices, turn off sync
- When sync is off, and you are signed in to Chrome, this pop-up will no longer appear
- If you don’t want to sign in to a Chrome profile at all, the only way to do this is to use Guest mode every time you browse
- However, you will need to sign in every time you use Chrome
- Learn how to use Guest mode in Google Chrome
Important: Daemen University does NOT view or manage your bookmarks, browsing history, passwords, or any other information stored in your Chrome profile. The information in the pop-up is misleading.
WHEN the pop-up appears
- The pop-up appears when you sign in to your Daemen Google account (via Gmail, Google Drive, etc.) using the desktop Google Chrome browser version 102 or newer outside of an existing Google Chrome profile, Guest profile, or the profile creation flow
- The pop-up started appearing for Daemen users in early June 2022 when Google Chrome for desktop version 102 was released.
- The notice may also appear on other Chromium-based browsers such as Microsoft Edge, Brave, Opera, etc.
WHY the pop-up appears
“Chrome 102 brings better separation between personal and enterprise-managed data. When the user signs into a managed account, they will have the option to either keep existing browsing data separate, or merge it with the managed account. By default, the data is kept separate, so a new profile will be created. Or, if they choose, they can merge the existing profile into the managed account. This prevents inadvertent sharing of personal data with work accounts. The ManagedAccountsSigninRestriction policy can be used to hide the checkbox altogether, allowing admins to force users to create a separate work profile.”
- No policies or configurations have been changed
- Google, not Daemen, made this language change
- The pop-up tries to make it clearer to you (as the user) that you are using Google Chrome via a Google account managed by Daemen University
- Daemen does NOT manage your Chrome usage in any way
- The pop-up gives you the option to create a new profile for your Daemen account to avoid merging bookmarks, history, and passwords if you so choose